National Quality Framework

National Quality Framework

Research shows that a child’s experience in their first five years sets the course for the rest of their life. 

In recognition of this, the Australian Government, in partnership with all state and territory governments, introduced a National Quality Framework (NQF) which puts in place a National Quality Standard (NQS) to ensure high quality and consistent early childhood education and care across Australia. 

The NQS consists of seven quality areas, each containing standards and elements that children’s education and care services are assessed and rated against. 

The seven quality areas covered by the NQS are: 

1. Educational program and practice 

2. Children’s health and safety 

3. Physical environment 

4. Staffing arrangements 

5. Relationship with children 

6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities 

7. Leadership and service management   

The Killarney School was assessed in 2019 under the NQS and achieved the highest rating of “Exceeding” across all 7 standards. 

Killarney School Ratings Certificate 1